hw-breakpoints: Accept breakpoints on NULL address
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Thu, 18 Feb 2010 15:00:59 +0000 (16:00 +0100)
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Fri, 19 Feb 2010 17:35:14 +0000 (18:35 +0100)
commit84d710926797a6e317e7e94654a3ccd771cfd8a3
tree81dbf3f67f75111c00d32f22bd62c251ffdeef91
parent6f93d0a7c83772997b81c30d6f519a9a5dbab6a9
hw-breakpoints: Accept breakpoints on NULL address

Before we had a generic breakpoint API, ptrace was accepting
breakpoints on NULL address in x86. The new API refuse them,
without given strong reasons. We need to follow the previous
behaviour as some userspace apps like Wine need such NULL
breakpoints to ensure old emulated software protections
are still working.

This fixes a 2.6.32 - 2.6.33-x ptrace regression.

Reported-and-tested-by: Michael Stefaniuc <mstefani@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Acked-by: K.Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Maneesh Soni <maneesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Alexandre Julliard <julliard@winehq.org>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Cc: Maciej Rutecki <maciej.rutecki@gmail.com>
arch/x86/kernel/hw_breakpoint.c