Fix oops in acer_wmi driver (acer_wmi_init)
authorArjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Sun, 24 Aug 2008 04:45:21 +0000 (21:45 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sun, 24 Aug 2008 04:54:00 +0000 (21:54 -0700)
commit83097aca8567a0bd593534853b71fe0fa9a75d69
tree67e6c59742c26b9da073c7fea389d7ac0de4bc46
parent6450f65168bcf3c03b5fb44c2fe96682c0d3086b
Fix oops in acer_wmi driver (acer_wmi_init)

The acer_wmi driver does a DMI scan for quirks, and then sets flags into the
"interface" datastructure for some cases. However, the quirks happen real early
before "interface" is per se initialized from NULL.

The patch below 1) adds a NULL pointer check and 2) (re)runs the quirks at the
end, when "interface" has it's final value.

Reported-by: kerneloops.org
Acked-by: Carlos Corbacho <carlos@strangeworlds.co.uk>
CC: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/misc/acer-wmi.c