dt: pinctrl: Document device tree binding
authorStephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>
Wed, 4 Apr 2012 15:27:47 +0000 (09:27 -0600)
committerPritesh Raithatha <praithatha@nvidia.com>
Thu, 11 Oct 2012 09:05:51 +0000 (14:05 +0530)
commit807fa390171f366f6c18753931e35103b62bd04d
treea68025e8e40c78ed1c0245af4de07241274caf49
parentb78e3e67c77e881cfecf10226df29d81476d2de5
dt: pinctrl: Document device tree binding

The core pin controller bindings define:
* The fact that pin controllers expose pin configurations as nodes in
  device tree.
* That the bindings for those pin configuration nodes is defined by the
  individual pin controller drivers.
* A standardized set of properties for client devices to define numbered
  or named pin configuration states, each referring to some number of the
  afore-mentioned pin configuration nodes.
* That the bindings for the client devices determines the set of numbered
  or named states that must exist.

Signed-off-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>
Acked-by: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Simon Glass <sjg@chromium.org>
Acked-by: Dong Aisheng <dong.aisheng@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
(cherry picked from commit 7a865277fb0f9da9e456dfc11b0a564cbfc475cd)

Change-Id: I579960c38e224cf51d9106a34715291538218e60
Signed-off-by: Pritesh Raithatha <praithatha@nvidia.com>
Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pinctrl/pinctrl-bindings.txt [new file with mode: 0644]