Revert "vfs: show unreachable paths in getcwd and proc"
authorEric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Sun, 5 Dec 2010 23:51:21 +0000 (15:51 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 6 Dec 2010 00:39:45 +0000 (16:39 -0800)
commit7b2a69ba7055da9a04eb96aa7b38c8e3280aaaa5
tree50b564e78fcb708a35ded72ed5cbd58cc12ce5c5
parent11e8896474495dec7ce19a542f67def847ec208f
Revert "vfs: show unreachable paths in getcwd and proc"

Because it caused a chroot ttyname regression in 2.6.36.

As of 2.6.36 ttyname does not work in a chroot.  It has already been
reported that screen breaks, and for me this breaks an automated
distribution testsuite, that I need to preserve the ability to run the
existing binaries on for several more years.  glibc 2.11.3 which has a
fix for this is not an option.

The root cause of this breakage is:

    commit 8df9d1a4142311c084ffeeacb67cd34d190eff74
    Author: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@suse.cz>
    Date:   Tue Aug 10 11:41:41 2010 +0200

    vfs: show unreachable paths in getcwd and proc

    Prepend "(unreachable)" to path strings if the path is not reachable
    from the current root.

    Two places updated are
     - the return string from getcwd()
     - and symlinks under /proc/$PID.

    Other uses of d_path() are left unchanged (we know that some old
    software crashes if /proc/mounts is changed).

Signed-off-by: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>

So remove the nice sounding, but ultimately ill advised change to how
/proc/fd symlinks work.

Signed-off-by: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/proc/base.c