vmscan: low order lumpy reclaim also should use PAGEOUT_IO_SYNC
authorKOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Tue, 16 Jun 2009 22:31:40 +0000 (15:31 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 17 Jun 2009 02:47:31 +0000 (19:47 -0700)
commit78dc583d3ab43115579cb5f3f7bd12e3548dd5a5
treeef8886bd9fce4bd8e4faa30bafcacd90aee54e25
parentd2bf6be8ab63aa84e6149aac934649aadf3828b1
vmscan: low order lumpy reclaim also should use PAGEOUT_IO_SYNC

Commit 33c120ed2843090e2bd316de1588b8bf8b96cbde ("more aggressively use
lumpy reclaim") increased how aggressive lumpy reclaim was by isolating
both active and inactive pages for asynchronous lumpy reclaim on
costly-high-order pages and for cheap-high-order when memory pressure is
high.  However, if the system is under heavy pressure and there are dirty
pages, asynchronous IO may not be sufficient to reclaim a suitable page in
time.

This patch causes the caller to enter synchronous lumpy reclaim for
costly-high-order pages and for cheap-high-order pages when under memory
pressure.

Minchan.kim@gmail.com said:

Andy added synchronous lumpy reclaim with
c661b078fd62abe06fd11fab4ac5e4eeafe26b6d.  At that time, lumpy reclaim is
not agressive.  His intension is just for high-order users.(above
PAGE_ALLOC_COSTLY_ORDER).

After some time, Rik added aggressive lumpy reclaim with
33c120ed2843090e2bd316de1588b8bf8b96cbde.  His intention was to do lumpy
reclaim when high-order users and trouble getting a small set of
contiguous pages.

So we also have to add synchronous pageout for small set of contiguous
pages.

Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
Cc: Andy Whitcroft <apw@shadowen.org>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Minchan Kim <Minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/vmscan.c