wait: prevent exclusive waiter starvation
authorJohannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Wed, 4 Feb 2009 23:12:14 +0000 (15:12 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 5 Feb 2009 20:56:48 +0000 (12:56 -0800)
commit777c6c5f1f6e757ae49ecca2ed72d6b1f523c007
tree342b79faee43af9705b5a8ca406565fda0ad08fd
parent40b0bb1e734700b81d2ec69367c035cd1537f4fa
wait: prevent exclusive waiter starvation

With exclusive waiters, every process woken up through the wait queue must
ensure that the next waiter down the line is woken when it has finished.

Interruptible waiters don't do that when aborting due to a signal.  And if
an aborting waiter is concurrently woken up through the waitqueue, noone
will ever wake up the next waiter.

This has been observed with __wait_on_bit_lock() used by
lock_page_killable(): the first contender on the queue was aborting when
the actual lock holder woke it up concurrently.  The aborted contender
didn't acquire the lock and therefor never did an unlock followed by
waking up the next waiter.

Add abort_exclusive_wait() which removes the process' wait descriptor from
the waitqueue, iff still queued, or wakes up the next waiter otherwise.
It does so under the waitqueue lock.  Racing with a wake up means the
aborting process is either already woken (removed from the queue) and will
wake up the next waiter, or it will remove itself from the queue and the
concurrent wake up will apply to the next waiter after it.

Use abort_exclusive_wait() in __wait_event_interruptible_exclusive() and
__wait_on_bit_lock() when they were interrupted by other means than a wake
up through the queue.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes]
Reported-by: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Mentored-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx>
Cc: Chuck Lever <cel@citi.umich.edu>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org> ["after some testing"]
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/wait.h
kernel/sched.c
kernel/wait.c