PM: Add support for device power domains
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Wed, 16 Feb 2011 20:53:17 +0000 (21:53 +0100)
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Mon, 14 Mar 2011 23:43:16 +0000 (00:43 +0100)
commit7538e3db6e015e890825fbd9f8659952896ddd5b
tree01a6d8c97599474d9c5fc1ed0eb6f0addaec5652
parent6831c6edc7b272a08dd2a6c71bb183a48fe98ae6
PM: Add support for device power domains

The platform bus type is often used to handle Systems-on-a-Chip (SoC)
where all devices are represented by objects of type struct
platform_device.  In those cases the same "platform" device driver
may be used with multiple different system configurations, but the
actions needed to put the devices it handles into a low-power state
and back into the full-power state may depend on the design of the
given SoC.  The driver, however, cannot possibly include all the
information necessary for the power management of its device on all
the systems it is used with.  Moreover, the device hierarchy in its
current form also is not suitable for representing this kind of
information.

The patch below attempts to address this problem by introducing
objects of type struct dev_power_domain that can be used for
representing power domains within a SoC.  Every struct
dev_power_domain object provides a sets of device power
management callbacks that can be used to perform what's needed for
device power management in addition to the operations carried out by
the device's driver and subsystem.

Namely, if a struct dev_power_domain object is pointed to by the
pwr_domain field in a struct device, the callbacks provided by its
ops member will be executed in addition to the corresponding
callbacks provided by the device's subsystem and driver during all
power transitions.

Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Tested-and-acked-by: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com>
Documentation/power/devices.txt
drivers/base/power/main.c
drivers/base/power/runtime.c
include/linux/device.h
include/linux/pm.h