futexes: Remove rw parameter from get_futex_key()
authorKOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Tue, 5 Jan 2010 07:32:43 +0000 (16:32 +0900)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Wed, 13 Jan 2010 08:17:36 +0000 (09:17 +0100)
commit7485d0d3758e8e6491a5c9468114e74dc050785d
tree073fb295550c96f075cbf968858bbab7e9fe5061
parent7284ce6c9f6153d1777df5f310c959724d1bd446
futexes: Remove rw parameter from get_futex_key()

Currently, futexes have two problem:

A) The current futex code doesn't handle private file mappings properly.

get_futex_key() uses PageAnon() to distinguish file and
anon, which can cause the following bad scenario:

  1) thread-A call futex(private-mapping, FUTEX_WAIT), it
     sleeps on file mapping object.
  2) thread-B writes a variable and it makes it cow.
  3) thread-B calls futex(private-mapping, FUTEX_WAKE), it
     wakes up blocked thread on the anonymous page. (but it's nothing)

B) Current futex code doesn't handle zero page properly.

Read mode get_user_pages() can return zero page, but current
futex code doesn't handle it at all. Then, zero page makes
infinite loop internally.

The solution is to use write mode get_user_page() always for
page lookup. It prevents the lookup of both file page of private
mappings and zero page.

Performance concerns:

Probaly very little, because glibc always initialize variables
for futex before to call futex(). It means glibc users never see
the overhead of this patch.

Compatibility concerns:

This patch has few compatibility issues. After this patch,
FUTEX_WAIT require writable access to futex variables (read-only
mappings makes EFAULT). But practically it's not a problem,
glibc always initalizes variables for futexes explicitly - nobody
uses read-only mappings.

Reported-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Acked-by: Darren Hart <dvhltc@us.ibm.com>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Ulrich Drepper <drepper@gmail.com>
LKML-Reference: <20100105162633.45A2.A69D9226@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
kernel/futex.c