mm: vmscan: do not OOM if aborting reclaim to start compaction
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 01:19:33 +0000 (17:19 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 04:13:09 +0000 (20:13 -0800)
commit7335084d446b83cbcb15da80497d03f0c1dc9e21
tree1bc34f3cc12a4f6fce19b8eeaed52dc3e4202b5b
parent5013473152d1ac9d44d787fb02edda845fdf2cb3
mm: vmscan: do not OOM if aborting reclaim to start compaction

During direct reclaim it is possible that reclaim will be aborted so that
compaction can be attempted to satisfy a high-order allocation.  If this
decision is made before any pages are reclaimed, it is possible that 0 is
returned to the page allocator potentially triggering an OOM.  This has
not been observed but it is a possibility so this patch addresses it.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Andy Isaacson <adi@hexapodia.org>
Cc: Nai Xia <nai.xia@gmail.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/vmscan.c