perf top: Exit if specified --vmlinux can't be used
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Wed, 27 Jan 2010 23:05:49 +0000 (21:05 -0200)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Fri, 29 Jan 2010 08:20:57 +0000 (09:20 +0100)
commit72b8fa1730207274f6818b47b891ce5dff79287e
treecc8fd9f816c3a3b9f251c9507f72bf9860b6b601
parent75c9f3284a7ff957829f44baace82406a6354ceb
perf top: Exit if specified --vmlinux can't be used

As we do lazy loading of symtabs we only will know if the
specified vmlinux file is invalid when we actually have a hit in
kernel space and then try to load it. So if we get kernel hits
and there are _no_ symbols in the DSO backing the kernel map,
bail out.

Reported-by: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Frédéric Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
LKML-Reference: <1264633557-17597-1-git-send-email-acme@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
tools/perf/builtin-top.c