ACPI / Sleep: Allow the NVS saving to be skipped during suspend to RAM
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Fri, 23 Jul 2010 20:59:09 +0000 (22:59 +0200)
committerLen Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Sun, 25 Jul 2010 03:26:09 +0000 (23:26 -0400)
commit72ad5d77fb981963edae15eee8196c80238f5ed0
treea6fa9a0b9ba924fd2dd91debf3e8ab04e8084338
parentb37fa16e78d6f9790462b3181602a26b5af36260
ACPI / Sleep: Allow the NVS saving to be skipped during suspend to RAM

Commit 2a6b69765ad794389f2fc3e14a0afa1a995221c2
(ACPI: Store NVS state even when entering suspend to RAM) caused the
ACPI suspend code save the NVS area during suspend and restore it
during resume unconditionally, although it is known that some systems
need to use acpi_sleep=s4_nonvs for hibernation to work.  To allow
the affected systems to avoid saving and restoring the NVS area
during suspend to RAM and resume, introduce kernel command line
option acpi_sleep=nonvs and make acpi_sleep=s4_nonvs work as its
alias temporarily (add acpi_sleep=s4_nonvs to the feature removal
file).

Addresses https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=16396 .

Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Reported-and-tested-by: tomas m <tmezzadra@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Documentation/feature-removal-schedule.txt
Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
arch/x86/kernel/acpi/sleep.c
drivers/acpi/sleep.c
include/linux/acpi.h