smp_call_function_many: handle concurrent clearing of mask
authorMilton Miller <miltonm@bga.com>
Tue, 15 Mar 2011 19:27:17 +0000 (13:27 -0600)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 17 Mar 2011 23:58:10 +0000 (16:58 -0700)
commit723aae25d5cdb09962901d36d526b44d4be1051c
tree0e2a83848e9b7884d69bfbbeba77283b531ba2ea
parent45a5791920ae643eafc02e2eedef1a58e341b736
smp_call_function_many: handle concurrent clearing of mask

Mike Galbraith reported finding a lockup ("perma-spin bug") where the
cpumask passed to smp_call_function_many was cleared by other cpu(s)
while a cpu was preparing its call_data block, resulting in no cpu to
clear the last ref and unlock the block.

Having cpus clear their bit asynchronously could be useful on a mask of
cpus that might have a translation context, or cpus that need a push to
complete an rcu window.

Instead of adding a BUG_ON and requiring yet another cpumask copy, just
detect the race and handle it.

Note: arch_send_call_function_ipi_mask must still handle an empty
cpumask because the data block is globally visible before the that arch
callback is made.  And (obviously) there are no guarantees to which cpus
are notified if the mask is changed during the call; only cpus that were
online and had their mask bit set during the whole call are guaranteed
to be called.

Reported-by: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Reported-by: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
Acked-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Milton Miller <miltonm@bga.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
kernel/smp.c