lib: crc8: add new library module providing crc8 algorithm
authorArend van Spriel <arend@broadcom.com>
Tue, 31 May 2011 09:22:15 +0000 (11:22 +0200)
committerJohn W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
Fri, 3 Jun 2011 19:01:06 +0000 (15:01 -0400)
commit7150962d637cf38617924f7f72ea00612283eb89
treeb9c336c00c32e986b73bfabc3a70c78d821659bc
parentdabd3001f941e35c4afa2458ceb17e5170062189
lib: crc8: add new library module providing crc8 algorithm

The brcm80211 driver in staging tree uses a crc8 function. Based on
feedback from John Linville to move this to lib directory, the linux
source has been searched. Although there is currently only one other
kernel driver using this algorithm (ie. drivers/ssb) we are providing
this as a library function for others to use.

Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Dan Carpenter <error27@gmail.com>
Cc: George Spelvin <linux@horizon.com>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
Reviewed-by: Henry Ptasinski <henryp@broadcom.com>
Reviewed-by: Roland Vossen <rvossen@broadcom.com>
Reviewed-by: "Franky (Zhenhui) Lin" <frankyl@broadcom.com>
Signed-off-by: Arend van Spriel <arend@broadcom.com>
Signed-off-by: John W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
include/linux/crc8.h [new file with mode: 0644]
lib/Kconfig
lib/Makefile
lib/crc8.c [new file with mode: 0644]