RTC: Revert UIE emulation removal
authorJohn Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Sat, 12 Feb 2011 01:45:40 +0000 (17:45 -0800)
committerJohn Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Thu, 17 Feb 2011 22:59:41 +0000 (14:59 -0800)
commit6e57b1d6a8d8ed1998229b71c102be1997e397c6
tree941ae7ba1c168af5603bb47d3bbfba33a8f2760c
parent516373b8b60fa4152334b6b6f2ece0f178c540ce
RTC: Revert UIE emulation removal

Uwe pointed out that my alarm based UIE emulation is not sufficient
to replace the older timer/polling based UIE emulation on devices
where there is no alarm irq. This causes rtc devices without alarms
to return -EINVAL to UIE ioctls. The fix is to re-instate the old
timer/polling method for devices without alarm irqs.

This patch reverts the following commits:
042620a018afcfba1d678062b62e46 - Remove UIE emulation
1daeddd5962acad1bea55e524fc0fa - Cleanup removed UIE emulation declaration
b5cc8ca1c9c3a37eaddf709b2fd3e1 - Remove Kconfig symbol for UIE emulation

The emulation mode will still need to be wired-in with a following
patch before it will work.

CC: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reported-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
drivers/rtc/Kconfig
drivers/rtc/rtc-dev.c
include/linux/rtc.h