futex: Deobfuscate handle_futex_death()
authorThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Mon, 14 Mar 2011 09:34:35 +0000 (10:34 +0100)
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Mon, 14 Mar 2011 20:08:47 +0000 (21:08 +0100)
commit6e0aa9f8a8190e0879a29bd67aa606b51734a122
tree66b92176051147b87031cc2755639c39f8a900f8
parent995612178c88407d8330f580ba6572cb8b284dd8
futex: Deobfuscate handle_futex_death()

handle_futex_death() uses futex_atomic_cmpxchg_inatomic() without
disabling page faults. That's ok, but totally non obvious.

We don't hold locks so we actually can and want to fault here, because
the get_user() before futex_atomic_cmpxchg_inatomic() does not
guarantee a R/W mapping.

We could just add a big fat comment to explain this, but actually
changing the code so that the functionality is entirely clear is
better.

Use the helper function which disables page faults around the
futex_atomic_cmpxchg_inatomic() and handle a fault with a call to
fault_in_user_writeable() as all other places in the futex code do as
well.

Pointed-out-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Acked-by: Darren Hart <darren@dvhart.com>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
LKML-Reference: <alpine.LFD.2.00.1103141126590.2787@localhost6.localdomain6>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
kernel/futex.c