ext3: avoid false EIO errors
authorJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Thu, 2 Apr 2009 23:57:17 +0000 (16:57 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 3 Apr 2009 02:04:52 +0000 (19:04 -0700)
commit695f6ae0dcea3dd83bfbb9634ff067f780649ba8
tree0c97d92bfdc0791d0456faad6ef93b88e5739247
parentde18f3b2d68c1f3481839be760a5ff93f6a9a5e5
ext3: avoid false EIO errors

Sometimes block_write_begin() can map buffers in a page but later we
fail to copy data into those buffers (because the source page has been
paged out in the mean time).  We then end up with !uptodate mapped
buffers.  To add a bit more to the confusion, block_write_end() does
not commit any data (and thus does not any mark buffers as uptodate) if
we didn't succeed with copying all the data.

Commit f4fc66a894546bdc88a775d0e83ad20a65210bcb (ext3: convert to new
aops) missed these cases and thus we were inserting non-uptodate
buffers to transaction's list which confuses JBD code and it reports IO
errors, aborts a transaction and generally makes users afraid about
their data ;-P.

This patch fixes the problem by reorganizing ext3_..._write_end() code
to first call block_write_end() to mark buffers with valid data
uptodate and after that we file only uptodate buffers to transaction's
lists.

We also fix a problem where we could leave blocks allocated beyond i_size
(i_disksize in fact) because of failed write. We now add inode to orphan
list when write fails (to be safe in case we crash) and then truncate blocks
beyond i_size in a separate transaction.

Signed-off-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Reviewed-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: <linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/ext3/inode.c