net: activity_stats: Add statistics for network transmission activity
authorMike Chan <mike@android.com>
Fri, 28 May 2010 21:32:19 +0000 (14:32 -0700)
committerDan Willemsen <dwillemsen@nvidia.com>
Thu, 1 Dec 2011 05:38:18 +0000 (21:38 -0800)
commit679991fec3ae301005d0270149b007ebf8a9aba6
tree4f12fd1e4dc9b744c760ee58297bb26983489165
parent093907d619b4f1f6a76ed8485daeba384f5c50b7
net: activity_stats: Add statistics for network transmission activity

When enabled, tracks the frequency of network transmissions
(inbound and outbound) and buckets them accordingly.
Buckets are determined by time between network activity.

Each bucket represents the number of network transmisions that were
N sec or longer apart. Where N is defined as 1 << bucket index.

This network pattern tracking is particularly useful for wireless
networks (ie: 3G) where batching network activity closely together
is more power efficient than far apart.

New file: /proc/net/stat/activity

output:

Min Bucket(sec) Count
              1 7
              2 0
              4 1
              8 0
             16 0
             32 2
             64 1
            128 0

Change-Id: I4c4cd8627b872a55f326b1715c51bc3bdd6e8d92
Signed-off-by: Mike Chan <mike@android.com>
drivers/misc/uid_stat.c
include/net/activity_stats.h [new file with mode: 0644]
net/Kconfig
net/Makefile
net/activity_stats.c [new file with mode: 0644]