vmscan: set up pagevec as late as possible in shrink_inactive_list()
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Tue, 10 Aug 2010 00:19:30 +0000 (17:19 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 10 Aug 2010 03:45:00 +0000 (20:45 -0700)
commit666356297ec4e9e6594c6008803f2b1403ff7950
treeaaa1e60f81588d0d90c2279c9812a32e5a085a27
parentd4debc66d1fc1b98a68081c4c8156f171841dca8
vmscan: set up pagevec as late as possible in shrink_inactive_list()

shrink_inactive_list() sets up a pagevec to release unfreeable pages.  It
uses significant amounts of stack doing this.  This patch splits
shrink_inactive_list() to take the stack usage out of the main path so
that callers to writepage() do not contain an unused pagevec on the stack.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Michael Rubin <mrubin@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/vmscan.c