Revert "clockevents: Set noop handler in clockevents_exchange_device()"
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 30 Dec 2011 21:24:40 +0000 (13:24 -0800)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Tue, 3 Jan 2012 18:11:29 +0000 (10:11 -0800)
commit664ba1f0d41f8e593f4189b5cdeebc860be25b8f
tree84f8ab0e4764f5871cfbd240a5848fd76ad823b2
parentc26f60b69ab33168db3b6b1ca383c39d5f6452b3
Revert "clockevents: Set noop handler in clockevents_exchange_device()"

commit 3b87487ac5008072f138953b07505a7e3493327f upstream.

This reverts commit de28f25e8244c7353abed8de0c7792f5f883588c.

It results in resume problems for various people. See for example

  http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1233033
  http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1233389
  http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1233159
  http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1227868/focus=1230877

and the fedora and ubuntu bug reports

  https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=767248
  https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/904569

which got bisected down to the stable version of this commit.

Reported-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Reported-by: Phil Miller <mille121@illinois.edu>
Reported-by: Philip Langdale <philipl@overt.org>
Reported-by: Tim Gardner <tim.gardner@canonical.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
kernel/time/clockevents.c