x86, kexec: fix crashdump panic with CONFIG_KEXEC_JUMP
authorHuang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Fri, 8 May 2009 02:51:41 +0000 (10:51 +0800)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Fri, 8 May 2009 05:01:05 +0000 (22:01 -0700)
commit6407df5ca54a511054200a1eb23f78f723ca1de4
treee27f6355b899deae894d8c80ab0906f546654534
parent498343967613183611ac37dccb2846496d954c06
x86, kexec: fix crashdump panic with CONFIG_KEXEC_JUMP

Tim Starling reported that crashdump will panic with kernel compiled
with CONFIG_KEXEC_JUMP due to null pointer deference in
machine_kexec_32.c: machine_kexec(), when deferencing
kexec_image. Refering to:

http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13265

This patch fixes the BUG via replacing global variable reference:
kexec_image in machine_kexec() with local variable reference: image,
which is more appropriate, and will not be null.

Same BUG is in machine_kexec_64.c too, so fixed too in the same way.

[ Impact: fix crash on kexec ]

Reported-by: Tim Starling <tstarling@wikimedia.org>
Signed-off-by: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
LKML-Reference: <1241751101.6259.85.camel@yhuang-dev.sh.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
arch/x86/kernel/machine_kexec_32.c
arch/x86/kernel/machine_kexec_64.c