tracing: Only print objcopy version warning once from recordmcount
authorSteven Rostedt <srostedt@redhat.com>
Tue, 17 Nov 2009 15:48:25 +0000 (10:48 -0500)
committerSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Tue, 17 Nov 2009 16:05:52 +0000 (11:05 -0500)
commit638adb0561264a3360a53e93def62288c85d8373
tree4d89d07b6c3c5a8b04458b1118a536d97968adcf
parentf6060f46819f313d34a8c8151390cda509c23389
tracing: Only print objcopy version warning once from recordmcount

If the user has an older version of objcopy, that can not handle
converting local symbols to global and vice versa, then some
functions will not be part of the dynamic function tracer. The current
code in recordmcount.pl will print a warning in this case. Unfortunately,
there exists lots of files that may have this issue with older objcopys
and this will cause a warning for every file compiled with this
issue.

This patch solves this overwhelming output by creating a
.tmp_quiet_recordmcount file on the first instance the warning is
encountered. The warning will not print if this file exists.

The temp file is deleted at the beginning of the compile to ensure that
the warning will happen once again on new compiles (because the issue
is still present).

Reported-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Makefile
scripts/recordmcount.pl