sched: revert load_balance_monitor() changes
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Mon, 25 Feb 2008 16:34:02 +0000 (17:34 +0100)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Tue, 4 Mar 2008 16:54:06 +0000 (17:54 +0100)
commit62fb185130e4d420f71a30ff59d8b16b74ef5d2b
tree474c0824a5bf90950b0a430a11a52b358c9e1f31
parent976dde010e513a9c7c3117a32b7b015f84b37430
sched: revert load_balance_monitor() changes

The following commits cause a number of regressions:

  commit 58e2d4ca581167c2a079f4ee02be2f0bc52e8729
  Author: Srivatsa Vaddagiri <vatsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
  Date:   Fri Jan 25 21:08:00 2008 +0100
  sched: group scheduling, change how cpu load is calculated

  commit 6b2d7700266b9402e12824e11e0099ae6a4a6a79
  Author: Srivatsa Vaddagiri <vatsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
  Date:   Fri Jan 25 21:08:00 2008 +0100
  sched: group scheduler, fix fairness of cpu bandwidth allocation for task groups

Namely:
 - very frequent wakeups on SMP, reported by PowerTop users.
 - cacheline trashing on (large) SMP
 - some latencies larger than 500ms

While there is a mergeable patch to fix the latter, the former issues
are not fixable in a manner suitable for .25 (we're at -rc3 now).

Hence we revert them and try again in v2.6.26.

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
CC: Srivatsa Vaddagiri <vatsa@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Tested-by: Alexey Zaytsev <alexey.zaytsev@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
include/linux/sched.h
kernel/sched.c
kernel/sched_fair.c
kernel/sched_rt.c
kernel/sysctl.c