drm/gem: add support for private objects
authorAlan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
Tue, 7 Jun 2011 13:17:51 +0000 (14:17 +0100)
committerDave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Mon, 25 Jul 2011 11:07:15 +0000 (12:07 +0100)
commit62cb70118c4efabb3c0a6f962168ddcad4344eef
tree68c8877c9fd761435082b84ae53c579e2a79fb93
parent04fee895ef98ffbb91a941b53a92d6949bb6d1c4
drm/gem: add support for private objects

These small changes should allow GEM to be used with non shmem objects as
well as shmem objects. In the GMA500 case it allows the base framebuffer to
appear as a GEM object and thus acquire a handle and work with KMS.

For i915 it ought to be trivial to get back the wasted memory but putting the
system fb back into stolen RAM and in general I can imagine it allowing the
use of GEM and thus KMS with all the older cards that have their framebuffer
firmly placed in video RAM.

Signed-off-by: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
Tested-by: Rob Clark <rob@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
drivers/gpu/drm/drm_gem.c
include/drm/drmP.h