tools: hv: Netlink source address validation allows DoS
authorTomas Hozza <thozza@redhat.com>
Thu, 8 Nov 2012 09:53:29 +0000 (10:53 +0100)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 28 Mar 2013 19:12:28 +0000 (12:12 -0700)
commit5fb9149b0ee4c106fc73923a3751047bdb860993
tree509e5506a2869f845a1ec94b6a2ceb8320a01b25
parent66de393d66371b070699ffcb6207cf1abc8b581a
tools: hv: Netlink source address validation allows DoS

commit 95a69adab9acfc3981c504737a2b6578e4d846ef upstream.

The source code without this patch caused hypervkvpd to exit when it processed
a spoofed Netlink packet which has been sent from an untrusted local user.
Now Netlink messages with a non-zero nl_pid source address are ignored
and a warning is printed into the syslog.

Signed-off-by: Tomas Hozza <thozza@redhat.com>
Acked-by: K. Y. Srinivasan <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
tools/hv/hv_kvp_daemon.c