perf evsel: Fix use of inherit
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Thu, 14 Apr 2011 14:20:14 +0000 (11:20 -0300)
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Fri, 15 Apr 2011 15:52:28 +0000 (12:52 -0300)
commit5d2cd90922c778908bd0cd669e572a5b5eafd737
tree0467726f17165b6e2461521e9cca4f54c959d6d6
parentdb9a9cbc8142eed008e242e389938689c6feb1ba
perf evsel: Fix use of inherit

perf stat doesn't mmap and its perfectly fine for it to use task-bound
counters with inheritance.

So set the attr.inherit on the caller and leave the syscall itself to
validate it.

When the mmap fails perf_evlist__mmap will just emit a warning if this
is the failure reason.

Reported-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20110414170121.GC3229@ghostprotocols.net
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
tools/perf/builtin-record.c
tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
tools/perf/builtin-test.c
tools/perf/builtin-top.c
tools/perf/util/evlist.c
tools/perf/util/evsel.c
tools/perf/util/evsel.h
tools/perf/util/python.c