gro: more generic L2 header check
authorEric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Wed, 8 Feb 2012 08:51:50 +0000 (08:51 +0000)
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Wed, 8 Feb 2012 23:26:54 +0000 (18:26 -0500)
commit5ca3b72c5da47d95b83857b768def6172fbc080a
tree9e1dab3a4e055c313aae8b78747d08c201dc91b6
parent936d7de3d736e0737542641269436f4b5968e9ef
gro: more generic L2 header check

Shlomo Pongratz reported GRO L2 header check was suited for Ethernet
only, and failed on IB/ipoib traffic.

He provided a patch faking a zeroed header to let GRO aggregates frames.

Roland Dreier, Herbert Xu, and others suggested we change GRO L2 header
check to be more generic, ie not assuming L2 header is 14 bytes, but
taking into account hard_header_len.

__napi_gro_receive() has special handling for the common case (Ethernet)
to avoid a memcmp() call and use an inline optimized function instead.

Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Reported-by: Shlomo Pongratz <shlomop@mellanox.com>
Cc: Roland Dreier <roland@kernel.org>
Cc: Or Gerlitz <ogerlitz@mellanox.com>
Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Tested-by: Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
net/core/dev.c