mm: fix boundary checking in free_bootmem_core
authorYinghai Lu <yhlu.kernel@gmail.com>
Mon, 24 Mar 2008 19:29:45 +0000 (12:29 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 25 Mar 2008 02:22:19 +0000 (19:22 -0700)
commit5a982cbc7b3fe6cf72266f319286f29963c71b9e
tree97afbc2ebc81b31ec13e261d0127f5e1639f0e26
parent2875fb65f8e40401c4b781ebc5002df10485f635
mm: fix boundary checking in free_bootmem_core

With numa enabled, some callers could have a range of memory on one node
but try to free that on other node.  This can cause some pages to be
freed wrongly.

For example: when we try to allocate 128g boot ram early for
gart/swiotlb, and free that range later so gart/swiotlb can get some
range afterwards.

With this patch, we don't need to care which node holds the range, just
loop to call free_bootmem_node for all online nodes.

This patch makes free_bootmem_core() more robust by trimming the sidx
and eidx according the ram range that the node has.

And make the free_bootmem_core handle this out of range case.  We could
use bdata_list to make sure the range can be freed for sure.  So next
time, we don't need to loop online nodes and could use free_bootmem
directly.

Signed-off-by: Yinghai Lu <yhlu.kernel@gmail.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Cc: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Tested-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/bootmem.c