coredump: add support for exe_file in core name
authorJiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Thu, 26 May 2011 23:25:46 +0000 (16:25 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 27 May 2011 00:12:36 +0000 (17:12 -0700)
commit57cc083ad9e1bfeeb4a0ee831e7bb008c8865bf0
tree03b491fd20b4ca3e58354b15067f6961f32a016b
parent3864601387cf4196371e3c1897fdffa5228296f9
coredump: add support for exe_file in core name

Now, exe_file is not proc FS dependent, so we can use it to name core
file.  So we add %E pattern for core file name cration which extract path
from mm_struct->exe_file.  Then it converts slashes to exclamation marks
and pastes the result to the core file name itself.

This is useful for environments where binary names are longer than 16
character (the current->comm limitation).  Also where there are binaries
with same name but in a different path.  Further in case the binery itself
changes its current->comm after exec.

So by doing (s/$/#/ -- # is treated as git comment):

  $ sysctl kernel.core_pattern='core.%p.%e.%E'
  $ ln /bin/cat cat45678901234567890
  $ ./cat45678901234567890
  ^Z
  $ rm cat45678901234567890
  $ fg
  ^\Quit (core dumped)
  $ ls core*

we now get:

  core.2434.cat456789012345.!root!cat45678901234567890 (deleted)

Signed-off-by: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Reviewed-by: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Documentation/sysctl/kernel.txt
fs/exec.c