mm: move memcg hierarchy reclaim to generic reclaim code
authorJohannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 01:17:59 +0000 (17:17 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 04:13:05 +0000 (20:13 -0800)
commit5660048ccac8735d9bc0a46325a02e6a6518b5b2
tree4b2269ddd6ca001843187a89fb91278192028d87
parent527a5ec9a53471d855291ba9f1fdf1dd4e12a184
mm: move memcg hierarchy reclaim to generic reclaim code

Memory cgroup limit reclaim and traditional global pressure reclaim will
soon share the same code to reclaim from a hierarchical tree of memory
cgroups.

In preparation of this, move the two right next to each other in
shrink_zone().

The mem_cgroup_hierarchical_reclaim() polymath is split into a soft
limit reclaim function, which still does hierarchy walking on its own,
and a limit (shrinking) reclaim function, which relies on generic
reclaim code to walk the hierarchy.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Reviewed-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Daisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp>
Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>
Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com>
Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/memcontrol.h
mm/memcontrol.c
mm/vmscan.c