Memoryless nodes: Fix GFP_THISNODE behavior
authorChristoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
Tue, 16 Oct 2007 08:25:37 +0000 (01:25 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 16 Oct 2007 16:42:59 +0000 (09:42 -0700)
commit523b945855a1427000ffc707c610abe5947ae607
tree2d84b5b6822a2a20bfd79146c08ce06ac8c80b9b
parent633c0666b5a5c41c376a5a7e4304d638dc48c1b9
Memoryless nodes: Fix GFP_THISNODE behavior

GFP_THISNODE checks that the zone selected is within the pgdat (node) of the
first zone of a nodelist.  That only works if the node has memory.  A
memoryless node will have its first node on another pgdat (node).

GFP_THISNODE currently will return simply memory on the first pgdat.  Thus it
is returning memory on other nodes.  GFP_THISNODE should fail if there is no
local memory on a node.

Add a new set of zonelists for each node that only contain the nodes that
belong to the zones itself so that no fallback is possible.

Then modify gfp_type to pickup the right zone based on the presence of
__GFP_THISNODE.

Drop the existing GFP_THISNODE checks from the page_allocators hot path.

Signed-off-by: Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
Acked-by: Nishanth Aravamudan <nacc@us.ibm.com>
Tested-by: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Acked-by: Bob Picco <bob.picco@hp.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@skynet.ie>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/gfp.h
include/linux/mmzone.h
mm/page_alloc.c