mm/fs: cleancache documentation
authorDan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Thu, 26 May 2011 16:00:56 +0000 (10:00 -0600)
committerDan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Thu, 26 May 2011 16:00:56 +0000 (10:00 -0600)
commit4fe4746ab694690af9f2ccb80184f5c575917c7f
tree533cf28d9c926e6f684c3905286ab179c2b4cc88
parent61c4f2c81c61f73549928dfd9f3e8f26aa36a8cf
mm/fs: cleancache documentation

This patchset introduces cleancache, an optional new feature exposed
by the VFS layer that potentially dramatically increases page cache
effectiveness for many workloads in many environments at a negligible
cost.  It does this by providing an interface to transcendent memory,
which is memory/storage that is not otherwise visible to and/or directly
addressable by the kernel.

Instead of being discarded, hooks in the reclaim code "put" clean
pages to cleancache.  Filesystems that "opt-in" may "get" pages
from cleancache that were previously put, but pages in cleancache are
"ephemeral", meaning they may disappear at any time. And the size
of cleancache is entirely dynamic and unknowable to the kernel.
Filesystems currently supported by this patchset include ext3, ext4,
btrfs, and ocfs2.  Other filesystems (especially those built entirely
on VFS) should be easy to add, but should first be thoroughly tested to
ensure coherency.

Details and a FAQ are provided in Documentation/vm/cleancache.txt

This first patch of eight in this cleancache series only adds two
new documentation files.

[v8: minor documentation changes by author]
[v3: akpm@linux-foundation.org: document sysfs API]
[v3: hch@infradead.org: move detailed description to Documentation/vm]
Signed-off-by: Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
Reviewed-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Rik Van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com>
Cc: Andreas Dilger <adilger@sun.com>
Cc: Ted Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>
Cc: Joel Becker <joel.becker@oracle.com>
Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-mm-cleancache [new file with mode: 0644]
Documentation/vm/cleancache.txt [new file with mode: 0644]