sched: Fix cgroup movement of forking process
authorDaisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp>
Thu, 15 Dec 2011 05:36:55 +0000 (14:36 +0900)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Wed, 21 Dec 2011 09:34:49 +0000 (10:34 +0100)
commit4fc420c91f53e0a9f95665c6b14a1983716081e7
treee6bfad34810d368ed893780b9ddc05c5dbcb6923
parent11534ec5b6cea13ae38d31799d2a5290c5d724af
sched: Fix cgroup movement of forking process

There is a small race between task_fork_fair() and sched_move_task(),
which is trying to move the parent.

        task_fork_fair()                 sched_move_task()
--------------------------------+---------------------------------
  cfs_rq = task_cfs_rq(current)
    -> cfs_rq is the "old" one.
  curr = cfs_rq->curr
    -> curr is set to the parent.
                                    task_rq_lock()
                                    dequeue_task()
                                      ->parent.se.vruntime -= (old)cfs_rq->min_vruntime
                                    enqueue_task()
                                      ->parent.se.vruntime += (new)cfs_rq->min_vruntime
                                    task_rq_unlock()
  raw_spin_lock_irqsave(rq->lock)
  se->vruntime = curr->vruntime
    -> vruntime of the child is set to that of the parent
       which has already been updated by sched_move_task().
  se->vruntime -= (old)cfs_rq->min_vruntime.
  raw_spin_unlock_irqrestore(rq->lock)

As a result, vruntime of the child becomes far bigger than expected,
if (new)cfs_rq->min_vruntime >> (old)cfs_rq->min_vruntime.

This patch fixes this problem by setting "cfs_rq" and "curr" after
holding the rq->lock.

Signed-off-by: Daisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp>
Acked-by: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20111215143655.662676b0.nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
kernel/sched/fair.c