tracing: Fix circular dead lock in stack trace
authorLai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
Tue, 2 Feb 2010 07:32:09 +0000 (15:32 +0800)
committerSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Tue, 2 Feb 2010 15:20:18 +0000 (10:20 -0500)
commit4f48f8b7fd18c44f8478174f9925cc3c059c6ce4
tree94eb6ad3dcf1d381d7b2bc81b3883d6cde98f3ba
parentab658321f32770b903a4426e2a6fae0392757755
tracing: Fix circular dead lock in stack trace

When we cat <debugfs>/tracing/stack_trace, we may cause circular lock:
sys_read()
  t_start()
     arch_spin_lock(&max_stack_lock);

  t_show()
     seq_printf(), vsnprintf() .... /* they are all trace-able,
       when they are traced, max_stack_lock may be required again. */

The following script can trigger this circular dead lock very easy:
#!/bin/bash

echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/stack_tracer_enabled

mount -t debugfs xxx /mnt > /dev/null 2>&1

(
# make check_stack() zealous to require max_stack_lock
for ((; ;))
{
echo 1 > /mnt/tracing/stack_max_size
}
) &

for ((; ;))
{
cat /mnt/tracing/stack_trace > /dev/null
}

To fix this bug, we increase the percpu trace_active before
require the lock.

Reported-by: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com>
LKML-Reference: <4B67D4F9.9080905@cn.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
kernel/trace/trace_stack.c