writeback: remove the internal 5% low bound on dirty_ratio
authorWu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Tue, 26 Oct 2010 21:21:45 +0000 (14:21 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 26 Oct 2010 23:52:08 +0000 (16:52 -0700)
commit4cbec4c8b9fda9ec784086fe7f74cd32a8adda95
tree669c3df27982345b52d0bfca8026e3f275e64a03
parent0e093d99763eb4cea09f8ca4f1d01f34e121d10b
writeback: remove the internal 5% low bound on dirty_ratio

The dirty_ratio was silently limited in global_dirty_limits() to >= 5%.
This is not a user expected behavior.  And it's inconsistent with
calc_period_shift(), which uses the plain vm_dirty_ratio value.

Let's remove the internal bound.

At the same time, fix balance_dirty_pages() to work with the
dirty_thresh=0 case.  This allows applications to proceed when
dirty+writeback pages are all cleaned.

And ">" fits with the name "exceeded" better than ">=" does.  Neil thinks
it is an aesthetic improvement as well as a functional one :)

Signed-off-by: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Proposed-by: Con Kolivas <kernel@kolivas.org>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Michael Rubin <mrubin@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/fs-writeback.c
mm/page-writeback.c