mm: make set_mempolicy(MPOL_INTERLEAV) N_HIGH_MEMORY aware
authorKAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Thu, 6 Aug 2009 22:07:33 +0000 (15:07 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 7 Aug 2009 17:39:55 +0000 (10:39 -0700)
commit4bfc44958e499af9a73f62201543b3a1f617cfeb
tree01b40f951cd1a5e6dda8e2b21e1e24650c43c95e
parent93274e4d4e9416ad1fa47e2f26011e2c483fe5fe
mm: make set_mempolicy(MPOL_INTERLEAV) N_HIGH_MEMORY aware

At first, init_task's mems_allowed is initialized as this.
 init_task->mems_allowed == node_state[N_POSSIBLE]

And cpuset's top_cpuset mask is initialized as this
 top_cpuset->mems_allowed = node_state[N_HIGH_MEMORY]

Before 2.6.29:
policy's mems_allowed is initialized as this.

  1. update tasks->mems_allowed by its cpuset->mems_allowed.
  2. policy->mems_allowed = nodes_and(tasks->mems_allowed, user's mask)

Updating task's mems_allowed in reference to top_cpuset's one.
cpuset's mems_allowed is aware of N_HIGH_MEMORY, always.

In 2.6.30: After commit 58568d2a8215cb6f55caf2332017d7bdff954e1c
("cpuset,mm: update tasks' mems_allowed in time"), policy's mems_allowed
is initialized as this.

  1. policy->mems_allowd = nodes_and(task->mems_allowed, user's mask)

Here, if task is in top_cpuset, task->mems_allowed is not updated from
init's one.  Assume user excutes command as #numactrl --interleave=all
,....

  policy->mems_allowd = nodes_and(N_POSSIBLE, ALL_SET_MASK)

Then, policy's mems_allowd can includes a possible node, which has no pgdat.

MPOL's INTERLEAVE just scans nodemask of task->mems_allowd and access this
directly.

  NODE_DATA(nid)->zonelist even if NODE_DATA(nid)==NULL

Then, what's we need is making policy->mems_allowed be aware of
N_HIGH_MEMORY.  This patch does that.  But to do so, extra nodemask will
be on statck.  Because I know cpumask has a new interface of
CPUMASK_ALLOC(), I added it to node.

This patch stands on old behavior.  But I feel this fix itself is just a
Band-Aid.  But to do fundametal fix, we have to take care of memory
hotplug and it takes time.  (task->mems_allowd should be N_HIGH_MEMORY, I
think.)

mpol_set_nodemask() should be aware of N_HIGH_MEMORY and policy's nodemask
should be includes only online nodes.

In old behavior, this is guaranteed by frequent reference to cpuset's
code.  Now, most of them are removed and mempolicy has to check it by
itself.

To do check, a few nodemask_t will be used for calculating nodemask.  But,
size of nodemask_t can be big and it's not good to allocate them on stack.

Now, cpumask_t has CPUMASK_ALLOC/FREE an easy code for get scratch area.
NODEMASK_ALLOC/FREE shoudl be there.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: cleanups & tweaks]
Tested-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Miao Xie <miaox@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul Menage <menage@google.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Yasunori Goto <y-goto@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/nodemask.h
mm/mempolicy.c