tracing, page-allocator: add trace events for page allocation and page freeing
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Tue, 22 Sep 2009 00:02:41 +0000 (17:02 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 22 Sep 2009 14:17:34 +0000 (07:17 -0700)
commit4b4f278c030aa4b6ee0915f396e9a9478d92d610
tree10825c2d197977bc9080093a6ecbd3ce80723876
parent38a398572fa2d8124f7479e40db581b5b72719c9
tracing, page-allocator: add trace events for page allocation and page freeing

This patch adds trace events for the allocation and freeing of pages,
including the freeing of pagevecs.  Using the events, it will be known
what struct page and pfns are being allocated and freed and what the call
site was in many cases.

The page alloc tracepoints be used as an indicator as to whether the
workload was heavily dependant on the page allocator or not.  You can make
a guess based on vmstat but you can't get a per-process breakdown.
Depending on the call path, the call_site for page allocation may be
__get_free_pages() instead of a useful callsite.  Instead of passing down
a return address similar to slab debugging, the user should enable the
stacktrace and seg-addr options to get a proper stack trace.

The pagevec free tracepoint has a different usecase.  It can be used to
get a idea of how many pages are being dumped off the LRU and whether it
is kswapd doing the work or a process doing direct reclaim.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Li Ming Chun <macli@brc.ubc.ca>
Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/trace/events/kmem.h
mm/page_alloc.c