oprofile: Fix the hang while taking the cpu offline
authorSantosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>
Wed, 27 Oct 2010 15:17:15 +0000 (11:17 -0400)
committerRobert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
Fri, 29 Oct 2010 09:52:53 +0000 (11:52 +0200)
commit4ac3dbec800d93485a5c84e37af676278eea657c
treeaa1a3e7065ed3f40e880de786df9b8077b278e59
parent0b849ee88846e3488a34007c5b8b4249579ff159
oprofile: Fix the hang while taking the cpu offline

The kernel build with CONFIG_OPROFILE and CPU_HOTPLUG enabled.
The oprofile is initialised using system timer in absence of hardware
counters supports. Oprofile isn't started from userland.

In this setup while doing a CPU offline the kernel hangs in infinite
for loop inside lock_hrtimer_base() function

This happens because as part of oprofile_cpu_notify(, it tries to
stop an hrtimer which was never started. These per-cpu hrtimers
are started when the oprfile is started.
echo 1 > /dev/oprofile/enable

This problem also existwhen the cpu is booted with maxcpus parameter
set. When bringing the remaining cpus online the timers are started
even if oprofile is not yet enabled.

This patch fix this issue by adding a state variable so that
these hrtimer start/stop is only attempted when oprofile is
started

For stable kernels v2.6.35.y and v2.6.36.y.

Reported-by: Jan Sebastien <s-jan@ti.com>
Tested-by: sricharan <r.sricharan@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@ti.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
drivers/oprofile/timer_int.c