x86/alternatives: Fix p6 nops on non-modular kernels
authorAvi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Wed, 22 Aug 2012 10:03:48 +0000 (13:03 +0300)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Sun, 7 Oct 2012 15:32:29 +0000 (08:32 -0700)
commit4a3bb116ee8ab2f912fdb6d2af40028b15825151
treed83784241a15dd195a8d15c9c14241a645c60fca
parentb4d4dc33a372aaee2205d4506b4c7ead6275067d
x86/alternatives: Fix p6 nops on non-modular kernels

commit cb09cad44f07044d9810f18f6f9a6a6f3771f979 upstream.

Probably a leftover from the early days of self-patching, p6nops
are marked __initconst_or_module, which causes them to be
discarded in a non-modular kernel.  If something later triggers
patching, it will overwrite kernel code with garbage.

Reported-by: Tomas Racek <tracek@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Michael Tokarev <mjt@tls.msk.ru>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <borislav.petkov@amd.com>
Cc: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>
Cc: qemu-devel@nongnu.org
Cc: Anthony Liguori <anthony@codemonkey.ws>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Cc: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/5034AE84.90708@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Ben Jencks <ben@bjencks.net>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
arch/x86/kernel/alternative.c