regmap: implement register striding
authorStephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>
Mon, 9 Apr 2012 19:40:24 +0000 (13:40 -0600)
committerSimone Willett <swillett@nvidia.com>
Sun, 15 Apr 2012 21:58:10 +0000 (14:58 -0700)
commit48f282fdd1833460e1ee5fc1a9e3008fcede3b38
treebc231eac1da3530e915a173c3d67847252adc81f
parentaf3575e322c4ae602e90ca006fac8ce00d46d2cc
regmap: implement register striding

regmap_config.reg_stride is introduced. All extant register addresses
are a multiple of this value. Users of serial-oriented regmap busses will
typically set this to 1. Users of the MMIO regmap bus will typically set
this based on the value size of their registers, in bytes, so 4 for a
32-bit register.

Throughout the regmap code, actual register addresses are used. Wherever
the register address is used to index some array of values, the address
is divided by the stride to determine the index, or vice-versa. Error-
checking is added to all entry-points for register address data to ensure
that register addresses actually satisfy the specified stride. The MMIO
bus ensures that the specified stride is large enough for the register
size.

Signed-off-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com>
Signed-off-by: Mark Brown <broonie@opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>
(cherry picked from commit f01ee60fffa4dc6c77122121233a793f7f696e67)

Change-Id: I634977dcb0fe9ff95c7932e9195a2c1918eb1c18
Signed-off-by: Laxman Dewangan <ldewangan@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/96510
Reviewed-by: Simone Willett <swillett@nvidia.com>
Tested-by: Simone Willett <swillett@nvidia.com>
drivers/base/regmap/internal.h
drivers/base/regmap/regcache-lzo.c
drivers/base/regmap/regcache-rbtree.c
drivers/base/regmap/regcache.c
drivers/base/regmap/regmap-debugfs.c
drivers/base/regmap/regmap-irq.c
drivers/base/regmap/regmap-mmio.c
drivers/base/regmap/regmap.c
include/linux/regmap.h