binfmt_elf: fix PIE execution with randomization disabled
authorJiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Wed, 2 Nov 2011 20:37:41 +0000 (13:37 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Fri, 11 Nov 2011 17:43:41 +0000 (09:43 -0800)
commit47c5d5e0bb289d3f25b2521304eb22b8e23d2b65
tree50c77d3846989c6c0ff02f4d3d4c5dd8e39e0e16
parent1e565a292a31ca798604b25b780e1878b4bb00cb
binfmt_elf: fix PIE execution with randomization disabled

commit a3defbe5c337dbc6da911f8cc49ae3cc3b49b453 upstream.

The case of address space randomization being disabled in runtime through
randomize_va_space sysctl is not treated properly in load_elf_binary(),
resulting in SIGKILL coming at exec() time for certain PIE-linked binaries
in case the randomization has been disabled at runtime prior to calling
exec().

Handle the randomize_va_space == 0 case the same way as if we were not
supporting .text randomization at all.

Based on original patch by H.J. Lu and Josh Boyer.

Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: H.J. Lu <hongjiu.lu@intel.com>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Tested-by: Josh Boyer <jwboyer@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
fs/binfmt_elf.c