mm: make get_user_pages() interruptible
authorYing Han <yinghan@google.com>
Tue, 6 Jan 2009 22:40:18 +0000 (14:40 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 6 Jan 2009 23:59:08 +0000 (15:59 -0800)
commit4779280d1ea4d361af13ae77ba55217fbcd16d4c
tree1abb35d85f2280aebb9cd565cc223d14b8731203
parent91bf189c3a766927694ce9de7d545e96b23f20fc
mm: make get_user_pages() interruptible

The initial implementation of checking TIF_MEMDIE covers the cases of OOM
killing.  If the process has been OOM killed, the TIF_MEMDIE is set and it
return immediately.  This patch includes:

1.  add the case that the SIGKILL is sent by user processes.  The
   process can try to get_user_pages() unlimited memory even if a user
   process has sent a SIGKILL to it(maybe a monitor find the process
   exceed its memory limit and try to kill it).  In the old
   implementation, the SIGKILL won't be handled until the get_user_pages()
   returns.

2.  change the return value to be ERESTARTSYS.  It makes no sense to
   return ENOMEM if the get_user_pages returned by getting a SIGKILL
   signal.  Considering the general convention for a system call
   interrupted by a signal is ERESTARTNOSYS, so the current return value
   is consistant to that.

Lee:

An unfortunate side effect of "make-get_user_pages-interruptible" is that
it prevents a SIGKILL'd task from munlock-ing pages that it had mlocked,
resulting in freeing of mlocked pages.  Freeing of mlocked pages, in
itself, is not so bad.  We just count them now--altho' I had hoped to
remove this stat and add PG_MLOCKED to the free pages flags check.

However, consider pages in shared libraries mapped by more than one task
that a task mlocked--e.g., via mlockall().  If the task that mlocked the
pages exits via SIGKILL, these pages would be left mlocked and
unevictable.

Proposed fix:

Add another GUP flag to ignore sigkill when calling get_user_pages from
munlock()--similar to Kosaki Motohiro's 'IGNORE_VMA_PERMISSIONS flag for
the same purpose.  We are not actually allocating memory in this case,
which "make-get_user_pages-interruptible" intends to avoid.  We're just
munlocking pages that are already resident and mapped, and we're reusing
get_user_pages() to access those pages.

??  Maybe we should combine 'IGNORE_VMA_PERMISSIONS and '_IGNORE_SIGKILL
into a single flag: GUP_FLAGS_MUNLOCK ???

[Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com: ignore sigkill in get_user_pages during munlock]
Signed-off-by: Paul Menage <menage@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com>
Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@tv-sign.ru>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Cc: Rohit Seth <rohitseth@google.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/internal.h
mm/memory.c
mm/mlock.c