ALSA: hda - Workaround for silent output on VAIO Z with ALC889
authorTakashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Thu, 20 Sep 2012 05:44:11 +0000 (07:44 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Tue, 2 Oct 2012 17:29:53 +0000 (10:29 -0700)
commit4386363312d70a764a376f1635467bab8e26965a
treeb360c64e05b9eac54eb2c3690296ef7a114f19b0
parent23b5a5da4f07b887adce9b42daa7aa14a72a5427
ALSA: hda - Workaround for silent output on VAIO Z with ALC889

commit e427c2375646789ecd0ccaef1a1e41458559ab2d upstream.

On recent kernels, Realtek codec parser tries to optimize the routing
aggressively and take the headphone output as primary at first.  This
caused a regression on VAIO Z with ALC889, the silent output from the
speaker.

The problem seems that the speaker pin must be connected to the first
DAC (0x02) on this machine by some reason although the codec itself
advertises the flexible routing with any DACs.

This patch adds a fix-up for choosing the speaker pin as the primary
so that the right DAC is assigned on this device.

Reported-and-tested-by: Adam Williamson <awilliam@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Documentation/sound/alsa/HD-Audio-Models.txt
sound/pci/hda/patch_realtek.c