mm: mmu_notifier: have mmu_notifiers use a global SRCU so they may safely schedule
authorSagi Grimberg <sagig@mellanox.co.il>
Mon, 8 Oct 2012 23:29:24 +0000 (16:29 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 28 Feb 2013 14:59:00 +0000 (06:59 -0800)
commit4209ee0d3f7992af3903b5f9a3359f6d2f597c4b
tree5009887555ccf68907acf7ff9b14c9acfed6ee00
parent362efcc9b0ba020f9124c70c56381ed64491aeca
mm: mmu_notifier: have mmu_notifiers use a global SRCU so they may safely schedule

commit 21a92735f660eaecf69a6f2e777f18463760ec32 upstream.

With an RCU based mmu_notifier implementation, any callout to
mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_{start,end}() or
mmu_notifier_invalidate_page() would not be allowed to call schedule()
as that could potentially allow a modification to the mmu_notifier
structure while it is currently being used.

Since srcu allocs 4 machine words per instance per cpu, we may end up
with memory exhaustion if we use srcu per mm.  So all mms share a global
srcu.  Note that during large mmu_notifier activity exit & unregister
paths might hang for longer periods, but it is tolerable for current
mmu_notifier clients.

Signed-off-by: Sagi Grimberg <sagig@mellanox.co.il>
Signed-off-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Haggai Eran <haggaie@mellanox.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
mm/mmu_notifier.c