kbuild: fix interaction of CONFIG_IKCONFIG and KCONFIG_CONFIG
authorBen Gardiner <bengardiner@nanometrics.ca>
Tue, 14 Dec 2010 16:39:44 +0000 (11:39 -0500)
committerMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Tue, 14 Dec 2010 22:05:02 +0000 (23:05 +0100)
commit41263fc6716dea402125c95f38ed83ebf59d5172
treeb38af603d534914187e396c989fc01a20894a2ff
parentba9effa2ecdc08325bd297d541b4207b2df38184
kbuild: fix interaction of CONFIG_IKCONFIG and KCONFIG_CONFIG

If you try to build a kernel with KCONFIG_CONFIG set (to a value
not equal to .config) and that config sets CONFIG_IKCONFIG then the
build will fail with:

make[1]: *** No rule to make target `.config', needed by \
`kernel/config_data.gz'.  Stop.

because the kernel/Makefile contains a direct reference to .config.

This issue has been present since the introduction of KCONFIG_CONFIG
in 14cdd3c402bf7c66f0bcd76e290f0770a54a4b21.

Signed-off-by: Ben Gardiner <bengardiner@nanometrics.ca>
CC: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
CC: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Reviewed-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Makefile
kernel/Makefile