mm: munlock use follow_page
authorHugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Tue, 22 Sep 2009 00:03:23 +0000 (17:03 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 22 Sep 2009 14:17:40 +0000 (07:17 -0700)
commit408e82b78bcc9f1b47c76e833c3df97f675947de
tree393fb1c659f3fe23928c722d3cffcac3429c1aee
parent5d3bc2709114b416cab588c577e02c2470e40a6c
mm: munlock use follow_page

Hiroaki Wakabayashi points out that when mlock() has been interrupted
by SIGKILL, the subsequent munlock() takes unnecessarily long because
its use of __get_user_pages() insists on faulting in all the pages
which mlock() never reached.

It's worse than slowness if mlock() is terminated by Out Of Memory kill:
the munlock_vma_pages_all() in exit_mmap() insists on faulting in all the
pages which mlock() could not find memory for; so innocent bystanders are
killed too, and perhaps the system hangs.

__get_user_pages() does a lot that's silly for munlock(): so remove the
munlock option from __mlock_vma_pages_range(), and use a simple loop of
follow_page()s in munlock_vma_pages_range() instead; ignoring absent
pages, and not marking present pages as accessed or dirty.

(Change munlock() to only go so far as mlock() reached?  That does not
work out, given the convention that mlock() claims complete success even
when it has to give up early - in part so that an underlying file can be
extended later, and those pages locked which earlier would give SIGBUS.)

Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: Hiroaki Wakabayashi <primulaelatior@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/mlock.c