perf symbols: /proc/kallsyms does not sort module symbols
authorAnton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Wed, 24 Aug 2011 06:40:15 +0000 (16:40 +1000)
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Fri, 23 Sep 2011 17:36:12 +0000 (14:36 -0300)
commit3f5a42722b9e78a434d5a4ee5e607dc33c69ac80
tree9e6afedc145ecb85a3cd80916cac5717547e9755
parentadb091846318f86e4f46c7d6a7b40d2f478abdbe
perf symbols: /proc/kallsyms does not sort module symbols

kallsyms__parse assumes that /proc/kallsyms is sorted and sets the end
of the previous symbol to the start of the current one.

Unfortunately module symbols are not sorted, eg:

ffffffffa0081f30 t e1000_clean_rx_irq   [e1000e]
ffffffffa00817a0 t e1000_alloc_rx_buffers       [e1000e]

Some symbols end up with a negative length and others have a length
larger than they should. This results in confusing perf output.

We already have a function to fixup the end of zero length symbols so
use that instead.

Cc: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20110824065242.969681349@samba.org
Signed-off-by: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
tools/perf/util/symbol.c