forcedeth: fix kexec regression
authorRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Fri, 5 Sep 2008 21:00:19 +0000 (14:00 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 5 Sep 2008 21:39:37 +0000 (14:39 -0700)
commit3cb5599a84c557c0dd9a19feb63a3788268cf249
treea1a2f9fe747bdfa7a7bf26c25ee6be6780a218b4
parent11d55d2cba6e867be8955e5ae011c54c556b849f
forcedeth: fix kexec regression

Fix regression tracked as http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11361
and caused by commit f735a2a1a4f2a0f5cd823ce323e82675990469e2 ("[netdrvr]
forcedeth: setup wake-on-lan before shutting down") that makes network
adapters integrated into the NVidia MCP55 chipsets fail to work in kexeced
kernels.  The problem appears to be that if the adapter is put into D3_hot
during ->shutdown(), it cannot be brought back into D0 after kexec (ref.
http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=121900062814967&w=4).  Therefore, only
put forcedeth into D3 during ->shutdown() if the system is to be powered
off.

Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Tested-by: Yinghai Lu <yhlu.kernel@gmail.com>
Cc: Ayaz Abdulla <aabdulla@nvidia.com>
Acked-by: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/net/forcedeth.c