exec: make argv/envp memory visible to oom-killer
authorOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Tue, 30 Nov 2010 19:55:34 +0000 (20:55 +0100)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 1 Dec 2010 01:56:37 +0000 (17:56 -0800)
commit3c77f845722158206a7209c45ccddc264d19319c
tree9eace97a8b88eb68b7d5d3127041b14c202421ae
parent37a09f07459753e7c98d4e21f1c61e8756923f81
exec: make argv/envp memory visible to oom-killer

Brad Spengler published a local memory-allocation DoS that
evades the OOM-killer (though not the virtual memory RLIMIT):
http://www.grsecurity.net/~spender/64bit_dos.c

execve()->copy_strings() can allocate a lot of memory, but
this is not visible to oom-killer, nobody can see the nascent
bprm->mm and take it into account.

With this patch get_arg_page() increments current's MM_ANONPAGES
counter every time we allocate the new page for argv/envp. When
do_execve() succeds or fails, we change this counter back.

Technically this is not 100% correct, we can't know if the new
page is swapped out and turn MM_ANONPAGES into MM_SWAPENTS, but
I don't think this really matters and everything becomes correct
once exec changes ->mm or fails.

Reported-by: Brad Spengler <spender@grsecurity.net>
Reviewed-and-discussed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/exec.c
include/linux/binfmts.h