module: fix up CONFIG_KALLSYMS=n build.
authorPaul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Thu, 1 Oct 2009 22:43:54 +0000 (15:43 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 1 Oct 2009 23:11:11 +0000 (16:11 -0700)
commit3ae91c21dd29e413f4111978152c14061f0984b0
tree64b4867e2ee81180661c287fa38d068975d1d37f
parent817b33d38f81c8736d39283c35c886ae4668f1af
module: fix up CONFIG_KALLSYMS=n build.

Starting from commit 4a4962263f07d14660849ec134ee42b63e95ea9a "reduce
symbol table for loaded modules (v2)", the kernel/module.c build is broken
with CONFIG_KALLSYMS disabled.

CC kernel/module.o
kernel/module.c:1995: warning: type defaults to 'int' in declaration of 'Elf_Hdr'
kernel/module.c:1995: error: expected ';', ',' or ')' before '*' token
kernel/module.c: In function 'load_module':
kernel/module.c:2203: error: 'strmap' undeclared (first use in this function)
kernel/module.c:2203: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
kernel/module.c:2203: error: for each function it appears in.)
kernel/module.c:2239: error: 'symoffs' undeclared (first use in this function)
kernel/module.c:2239: error: implicit declaration of function 'layout_symtab'
kernel/module.c:2240: error: 'stroffs' undeclared (first use in this function)
make[1]: *** [kernel/module.o] Error 1
make: *** [kernel/module.o] Error 2

There are three different issues:

    - layout_symtab() takes a const Elf_Ehdr

    - layout_symtab() needs to return a value

    - symoffs/stroffs/strmap are referenced by the load_module() code
      despite being ifdefed out, which seems unnecessary given the noop
      behaviour of layout_symtab()/add_kallsyms() in the case of
      CONFIG_KALLSYMS=n.

Signed-off-by: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
Acked-by: Jan Beulich <jbeulich@novell.com>
Acked-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
kernel/module.c