hugetlb: offload per node attribute registrations
authorLee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Tue, 15 Dec 2009 01:58:36 +0000 (17:58 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 15 Dec 2009 16:53:13 +0000 (08:53 -0800)
commit39da08cb074cf19cb249832a2a955dfb28837e65
treefded7c1757adb29aa682f86251addc66549b6907
parent4faf8d950ec438c49ae4526b897c30f8a2cad741
hugetlb: offload per node attribute registrations

Offload the registration and unregistration of per node hstate sysfs
attributes to a worker thread rather than attempt the
allocation/attachment or detachment/freeing of the attributes in the
context of the memory hotplug handler.

I don't know that this is absolutely required, but the registration can
sleep in allocations and other mem hot plug handlers do it this way.  If
it turns out this is NOT required, we can drop this patch.

N.B.,  Only tested build, boot, libhugetlbfs regression.
       i.e., no memory hotplug testing.

Signed-off-by: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Reviewed-by: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
Cc: Nishanth Aravamudan <nacc@us.ibm.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Adam Litke <agl@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Andy Whitcroft <apw@canonical.com>
Cc: Eric Whitney <eric.whitney@hp.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/base/node.c
include/linux/node.h